misscraigthescienceteacher

DIY learning: how to organize a school science fair

on October 11, 2012

This week’s assignment appeared very interesting. I would get to learn anything that I wanted. At first, I was thinking of something completely out of the box, but decided to limit it to something related to my profession. This year I was appointed to put on our school’s science fair. So, why not research how to organize a science fair?  The first thing that I needed to think about was the time frame that I had to learn about science fairs. Ideally, I can quick browse the web if I had only ten minutes to teach myself. While surfing the web, I can read other science fair coordinator’s ideas. The ideas can be found at http://school.discoveryeducation.com/sciencefaircentral/Coordinating-a-Science-Fair/Science-Fair-Coordinators-Checklist-What-should-I-do.html or http://jujijn.livejournal.com/75660.html. Another idea, that I can research and  learn in 10 minutes would be the science fair coordinator’s checklist. I came across a great checklist at http://school.discoveryeducation.com/sciencefaircentral/Coordinating-a-Science-Fair/Science-Fair-Coordinators-Checklist-What-should-I-do.html.

If I had about a week to look into the science fair, I can start following various science fair Twitter accounts. I would like to look into Twitter accounts over a week so I can fully look into all that they have to offer. The below is a screen capture of Twitter accounts that I started following that relate to science fairs. I also came across this site, http://www.google.com/events/sciencefair/educators.html  that I would like more than ten minutes to look at. This Google site has many ideas for educators that to truly get the whole idea from, I would need more time. I would also like to check out some YouTube videos to give me some fresh ideas about putting together a science fair. For example, http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=2A50A300F5AB5600 shows a series of videos. Lastly, I can dig through handbooks to get myself familiar with setting up a science fair. One handbook that I seemed to like was http://www.hs.fountainhillsschools.org/viewpdf.cfm?filename=FHHSScienceFairCoordinatorsHandbook.pdf. It seemed very helpful at this point in time.

This image is a screen shot the shows the accounts that I decided to follow to learn more about the science fair.

Lastly, If I had months to learn about how to put together a science fair, I would try to get out to the local community and research how other schools organize this. To go out and compile ideas from other schools, would be ideal too. One resource that I can use to find science fairs would be the virtual library of science fairs located at http://physics.usc.edu/~gould/ScienceFairs/. I can learn all about science fairs. It truly depends on how much time I have to teach myself all about science fairs. I have outlined various ways to teach myself about science fairs now it is up to me to find the time.

4 responses to “DIY learning: how to organize a school science fair

  1. kotchjester says:

    Hi Miss Craig! If you are interested in doing a science fair, I can set you up with one of my colleagues contact information. She has led a science fair at the elementary level for the last few years. She has it very organized. Sounds like this is something you are definitely interested in doing, but I know how much time it takes to plan. With our crazy responsibilities as teachers, it seems like there is never enough time to do the fun stuff 😦

    • mathplourde says:

      Hi Stacy,

      I’d like to reply to your last sentence:

      “With our crazy responsibilities as teachers, it seems like there is never enough time to do the fun stuff.”

      I agree that work can feel overwhelming sometimes, but if it becomes a burden that doesn’t provide a sense of accomplishment or seems like it’s just the usual daily grind, I think it’s time to 1) figure out ways to integrate play in your work day or 2) look for another job.

      Work without play is insane. Playing is learning, kids demonstrate that every day. As we are expected to become lifelong learners, as adults, we need to put more play in our lives too.

    • Yes!! That would be great if you can set me up with one of your colleagues! I would really appreciate it. If you can pass along her email.. that would be great!

  2. jhill1113 says:

    Ms. CraigtheScienceTeacher,

    Sounds like a great project…we had science fairs at my school but the teachers worked in grade levels to pull it off. Also, we were fortunate to have parents that had jobs in STEM and they came out to our school and judged the fair. That was really exciting for the kids.

Leave a Reply

