misscraigthescienceteacher

week 11: Meme creation

on November 12, 2012

Image

 

Image

I have to admit, I struggled with this week’s assignment. I never created any memes before and the websites that I was experimenting with were not so cooperative. I was having a hard time saving it with the meme generator. I then turned to create an image just using my computer tools but then I had a hard time figuring out how to post that image. I use Smart notebook to edit pictures for my classroom so I figured this would be easy. However, when I needed to post this online, I found this a struggle. So I went back to searching for online sites.  I continued to search for meme generators. I found http://www.quickmeme.com . This seemed to be “firsttime user friendly” site. I created two memes since I couldn’t decided which would be better.  According to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meme, “A meme acts as a unit for carrying cultural ideas, symbols or practices, which can be transmitted from one mind to another through writing, speech, gestures, rituals or other imitable phenomena”. With that said, I was going for the theme that everything changes over time, especially school.

                Both of the images show how times have changed through education over the years. The first one that I created is a Flickr image of post it notes. The original image can be found at http://www.flickr.com/photos/peggyozsuada/8165641450/. This is a creative commons image that was obtained from Flickr. I used this site to add text over top of the image. I was going for the theme that post it notes ultimately posted and pinned things back in the day just like technology currently does today. The great invention of the post it helped people mark the things or “pin” the things they like. Also post it notes were used in my family as the “tell the family where you are headed” piece of paper by the phone. Post it notes were the start of technology.

                My second meme reflects my personal journey as a student over time. In the 90s when I was going through school, the typical school supply were pencils. Now, the students typical school supply is technology. I obtained  both creative commons images from Flickr at   Ihttp://www.flickr.com/photos/mitmensch0812/2518815566/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/stevendepolo/4873961061/

I needed to merge the images together to represent the change over time with student’s school supplies. I used smart notebook to merge the images then I used Jing to capture the screen shot. I then uploaded the image to the generator and added my words. This meme describes how the times have changed in simple school supplies.

My memes can be viewed at the following websites:

http://qkme.me/3rqg4t

http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3rqg2p/

 

3 responses to “week 11: Meme creation

  1. kotchjester says:

    I love the memes you chose. Very creative. I especially love the first one looking at the supplies. How true!

  2. tjcanty75 says:

    Sometimes I still take notes with paper and pen because I love the manual experience of writing!

  3. Hey! I thought the 2nd pic you posted was pretty clever! I mentioned today that I’m working with Pintrist, Tumblr, Memes, on top of facebook and twitter, and my students were shocked that I knew what they all were. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

